The Richest Man In Babylon

runnerr

Recycles dryer sheets
I am sure some of you read this book. I am just getting started and fortunately I have been following his suggestions for over 30 some years. So I know they work. My question is how do you get young people or anyone to buy into "part of all you earn is yours to keep." At least 10 percent. I just don't understand why others don't save.

Good book. And there are other good ones. YMOYL is another. How to get it across to the kids? Mostly by example. Youngest son is a senior (graduates in two days!) and driving. So a couple months back he comes up and asks "Hey Dad, why does gas cost so much? and Where are the heap stations?" He was aware that I was pretty cheap but 'got it' for himself when he has to pay for things.

Ya know, I just got through this recently. I cheated though and listened to it on audio book ;)

But it always amazes me that the key to pulling this off is so simple - pay yourself first. And yet, so few people actually do.

I think the key is to force them to save early on. Like, tell your kids from the first nickel they get, that some % must be put into savings. By the time they are old enough to spend, it should be pretty much ingrained.

One of my biggest hopes, since I am going to retire at 30, is the honor of both parents being able to stay home, and I plan to teach them at 5 years old, or even sooner to start planning for retirement. If a child starts early enough saving and investing they can have a massive head start before they even begin their adult life.

Yes, I realize this is an old thread but I see no need to start a new thread.

Each year I voluneer for Junior Achievement through my employeer. I typically teach the kindergarten program and I've also taught fifth grade. If you're not familar with JA they promote self-reliance, money skills (financial literarcy), entrepenuership (sp?).