Intro from Sacramento

biosurfer1

Confused about dryer sheets
Hello all, I'm Brett (or biosurfer1).

I've been a lurker on the boards for sometime now and finally decided to join so I can post. I have learned a ton and its so nice to have people to talk to about retirement plans since most of my friends have a blank stare when I mention things like 401k, IRA, etc...

Anyways, I'm 26 years old, not married (but think I found "the one") and am in the process of buying my first house (scary as hell, btw). I have been extremely interested in all things money my whole life and love researching money management and retirement stuff. My SO finds most of it boring but she'll appreciate it when we're 45 and both retired;)

I graduated with a degree in mechanical engineering, but moved to controls engineering right out of school. I work for a small company which is how I like it, maybe not as much $$ but the working environment is fun, challenging and I'm doing a lot better than most people my age.

I mostly just read posts, but if I know an answer I'll throw it out there. If any one wants to know about controls, porsches, or auto detailing, I'm probably your guy:)

Great site and thanks everyone for all the info I've already gotten!

Biosurfing? Is that like mosh diving?

slamming.medium.jpg

ha.. no, its actually just a word i thought sounded cool when I was 11 and made my first AOL screen name....biosurfer was taken so I became very creative and added the 1:)

i've used that screen name so long now, its too integrated into my online persona to get rid of

Brett, welcome aboard!

Don't be surprised when you're still getting those blank stares in 20 years. But you'll have that Cheshire cat grin. It's great to see someone your age with retirement planning even on the radar.

Coach

Hello Brett