24 and I want to retire early

whitepepper

Confused about dryer sheets
Hello everyone.

I'm 24 years old. I graduated college in August and I already want to retire. Haha.

Currently, I am set to deposit ~$7000 per year into a 401K. That amount will probably increase by 2-3% per year, but I can't say for sure.

Also, I'm saving ~$200/month to invest separately from my 401K.

I would like to retire after 20 years in the workforce, but I don't think this will be enough money to do so.

How much more should I be investing per month?

Thanks for all the help.

Also, my current 401k is with T. Rowe Price. Here is the allocation of my investments. I need help with this because I am a beginner.

Capital Appreciation Fund (PRWCX) - %20
Growth Stock Fund (PRGFX) - %30
International Growth and Income - %10
New Horizons Fund (PRHNX) - %10
Retirement 2045 (TRRKX) - %30

Other funds that I can choose from are:

New Income Fund (PRCIX)
Retirement Income Fund (TRRIX)
Short-Term Bond Fund (PRWBX)
Summit Cash Reserves Fund (TSCXX)
Value Fund (TRVLX)

There are several other funds set to your expected retirement date (e.g. Retirement 2045, which I am in already).

What changes should I make?

Somewhere out there, there's an article that has the math for retiring in 20 years. It's something like, "Save 20% each year and you'll be able to retire in 20 years."

As for how much additional you should save, it all comes down to how much you spend now and how much you plan to spend.

Don't forget to have some fun. Save some each month for an exciting vacation.

pepper, I think you have reasonable funds for your age. I don't have a lot of good choices in my 401k, so I put all my contributions into T Rowe Price Capital Appreciation, which has an enviable track record.