Jeff Nabers & Index Investing

JayNYC

Confused about dryer sheets
I'm a bit new to the market and to investing, but have been quite taken by the "unbeatability" of index fund investing. Blogger Jeff Nabers recently posted about downsides to index fund investing, and I don't have the knowledge to critically analyze his points. (It seems more like he is posting about the downsides to equities markets in general.)

Is there someone on these boards who can respond to his claims?

Thanks!

I'm a bit new to the market and to investing, but have been quite taken by the "unbeatability" of index fund investing. Blogger Jeff Nabers recently posted about downsides to index fund investing, and I don't have the knowledge to critically analyze his points. (It seems more like he is posting about the downsides to equities markets in general.)

Is there someone on these boards who can respond to his claims?

Thanks!

This website is just a sales document for his services. Do your homework- the resources in Maddy's link above should help-and stay away from crackpot stuff.

Ha

Well, everything else in the article aside, I tend to be leery about anyone who ends an article with a call to action to contact their company so they can save you from 'x'.

Pick up the Bogleheads Guide to Investing and read through it.

As for his part on inflation... well, without rehashing an entire thread about Shadowstats, the gist of my take on it is that the only inflation number you need to be worried about is your personal rate of inflation and you need to incorporate that and your risk tolerance with regard to investments in your asset allocation.

a.) nobody claims that the stock market will return 10% a year
b.) his math example is correct, but only to the naive. He is only explaining the difference between arithmetic and geometric means, when any responsible person only cares about geometric means (always less than or equal to arithmetic means) for returns of the stock market.