Early Retirement & Financial Independence Community

Early Retirement & Financial Independence Community (https://www.early-retirement.org/forums/)
-   Forum Admin (https://www.early-retirement.org/forums/f32/)
-   -   Add a table to your post - New tool (https://www.early-retirement.org/forums/f32/add-a-table-to-your-post-new-tool-43750.html)

Janet H 04-14-2009 03:17 PM

Add a table to your post - New tool
 
A simple table tool has been added to the reply editor. It has extremely limited capabilities, but may be useful for posting tabular data.


How to set up a simple table:

Click reply and then select go advanced
Enter cell data separating info for each cell with a "|"
Use a new line for each new row. Example:

Mon|1.5|2.2|3.2|2.1
Wed|0|2.1|0|3.2|1
Fri|1|2|3|4

Once you have entered your data, highlight all data and then click on the table icon on formatting toolbar to add the formatting tags around your data. Click the preview post button to check out your new table.

Mon1.52.23.22.1
Wed02.103.2
Fri1234


Adding a header:


Set up your table and add titles in the first line for your header using the same "|" separator. Highlight table and click the table icon. Code tags will be added to the beginning and end of your table. Next you must edit the tag at the beginning of your table. Change the code [table] to [table=head] at the beginning of your table. No change is needed to the tag at the end of your table

Miles run|week 1|week 2|week 3|week 4
Mon|1.5|2.2|3.2|2.1
Wed|0|2.1|0|3.2|1
Fri|1|2|3|4

Miles runweek 1week 2week 3week 4
Mon1.52.23.22.1
Wed02.103.2
Fri1234

Formatting tips:
  • The first line defines how many columns are in the table. If the other lines have more or fewer columns, they are cut off
  • Columns will be as wide as the widest entry in that column (I think)
  • Empty rows are (should be) removed.
  • You can use formatting code and smilies inside the table!

target2019 04-14-2009 07:26 PM

Get a text editor like Metapad lite (free).
Copy the range in Excel.
Paste into Metapad.
Replace all Tabs with |.
Select all and copy.
Paste into the reply box here.
Change text TABLE in first tag to TABLE=head.

AA Tgt%Target%% from Tgt
10.0%Frgn Lg Blnd-2.8%
3.0%Frgn Lg Value-0.4%
5.0%World Stock+1.3%
:frown:>Int'l18.0%-1.9%
8.5%Large Blend-1.5%
6.0%Large Blend+2.2%
4.0%Large Value-0.2%
0.5%Co. Stock+0.1%
11.0%Stocks+1.7%
2.0%Specialty R.E.-0.3%
4.5%Small Blend-0.8%
2.5%Small Value-2.5%
;D>U.S.39.0%-1.3%
18.5%Int-Term Bd+1.5%
3.5%Int-Term Bd-0.6%
7.0%Long-Term Bd+0.1%
7.5%Bonds+1.0%
2.5%Inf-Prtctd Bd+0.9%
:nonono:>Bond39.0%+2.8%
4.0%Cash Res.+0.4%
:)>Cash4.0%+0.4%

Rich_by_the_Bay 04-14-2009 07:51 PM

Thankyouforaddingthat
feature.Itsoundsquiteuseful.
Rich    

Janet H 04-14-2009 08:40 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by target2019 (Post 807137)
Get a text editor like Metapad lite (free).
Copy the range in Excel.
Paste into Metapad.
Replace all Tabs with |.
Select all and copy.
Paste into the reply box here.
Change text TABLE in first tag to TABLE=head.

Great tip!!
:flowers:

Bestwifeever 04-16-2009 04:57 PM

I could get this to work only by copying Janet's table data and substituting my data for hers and then clicking on the formatting button. When I tried to do it from scratch only the first column appeared and I couldn't get the heading application to work.

target2019 04-16-2009 08:15 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by bestwifeever (Post 807748)
i could get this to work only by copying janet's table data and substituting my data for hers and then clicking on the formatting button. When i tried to do it from scratch only the first column appeared and i couldn't get the heading application to work.

It's possible that you are not using the correct delimiter "|".

1234
abcd
The data I entered to make my small table above:

1|2|3|4
a|b|c|d

I selected those two lines of data, and then clicked on the Table icon.

Hope that helps.

Bestwifeever 04-17-2009 02:44 PM

My | is above the backslash \ -- I don't see another one vertical on my keyboard (Compaq laptop). I'll try again here:

a|b|c|d
1|2|3|4

should become a table

a
1

but it still doesn't for me. :frown:

Oh, well--no biggie.

REWahoo 04-17-2009 02:55 PM

Feever, after you type...

a|b|c|d
1|2|3|4

...you're highlighting it then clicking the table icon and still not getting...


abcd
1234
...?

EDIT: Feever, it looks like you may have hit 'enter' after your first and prior to the ending [table]. That would result in the incomplete results you are showing.

ziggy29 04-17-2009 03:03 PM

It looks like you can't have a carriage return after the opening TABLE tag. When I press "enter" after the TABLE tag and I start the "a|b|c|d" on a new line, I get

a
1
But when I put the a|b|c|d immediately to the right of the TABLE tag and on its same line, I get the full thing:

abcd
1234

[edit to add: never mind...]

Bestwifeever 04-17-2009 03:05 PM

REW, did you cut and paste my data and it worked okay?

I am following the instructions precisely--I'll try again (retyping my data):

a
1

REWahoo 04-17-2009 03:06 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by ziggy29 (Post 808025)
It looks like you can't have a carriage return after the opening TABLE tag.

"Carriage return"? :laugh: I thought I was older than dirt...:coolsmiley:

You are correct Zig. I discovered the same thing and edited my post above.

REWahoo 04-17-2009 03:07 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Bestwifeever (Post 808026)
I am following the instructions precisely...:

Not quite...

See my edit and Ziggy's post above.

ziggy29 04-17-2009 03:07 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by REWahoo (Post 808027)
"Carriage return" :laugh: I thought I was older than dirt...:coolsmiley:

My first job out of college was in an IBM mainframe programming shop. We still had to use punch cards for the first couple of years when we had to use special JCL...

Bestwifeever 04-17-2009 03:23 PM

So if you put a few lines of text in the message, then key in some table data, then select it and click on the table button, it formats it?

I have been trying to do this and cannot get it to work. It works when I key in the start and end table tags on the same start and end lines as my data. But when I select the data (and only the data) and click on the table button, it puts the table tags on the lines above and below my data, not run in to them. And then my table is only the left-hand column.

ziggy29 04-17-2009 03:52 PM

Try entering it EXACTLY as you see it in the screen capture I created below:

https://ziggy29.com/images/tableexample.jpg

It's critical that the first element in the top left cell (the "a" here) immediately follows the closing ']' of the TABLE tag and not on the line below it.

Khan 04-17-2009 04:14 PM

test

abcd
sundaymondaytuesdaywednesday
allcowseatgrass

Bestwifeever 04-17-2009 04:39 PM

Ziggy, I can do it if I put the tags in myself--I do run right into the beginning and end of the data.

It's when I key in the data, select it, and then click on the "table" button that I only get the left column--in which case the table tags appear on the lines above and below the data, not run in. I'll just do it manually for those tabular occasions (isn't that a song from Chorus Line--"One Tabular Occasion"?).

I like Khan's table--so bucolic!

REWahoo 04-17-2009 04:42 PM

BestWifeEver
emptytablesyndrome

ziggy29 04-17-2009 04:44 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Bestwifeever (Post 808057)
Ziggy, I can do it if I put the tags in myself--I do run right into the beginning and end of the data.

It's when I key in the data, select it, and then click on the "table" button that I only get the left column--in which case the table tags appear on the lines above and below the data, not run in. I'll just do it manually for those tabular occasions (isn't that a song from Chorus Line--"One Tabular Occasion"?).

I like Khan's table--so bucolic!

Wow, that's odd.

Might this be browser-specific?

Khan 04-17-2009 04:47 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Bestwifeever (Post 808057)
Ziggy, I can do it if I put the tags in myself--I do run right into the beginning and end of the data.

It's when I key in the data, select it, and then click on the "table" button that I only get the left column--in which case the table tags appear on the lines above and below the data, not run in. I'll just do it manually for those tabular occasions (isn't that a song from Chorus Line--"One Tabular Occasion"?).

I like Khan's table--so bucolic!

In my experience, it's important that [ table ] be on the same line as the first line of data, and [/ table ] be on the same line as the last line of data


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:39 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.