29 y/o planning to retire at 38

robby152

Dryer sheet wannabe
Hello all!

First time to post here, but I have been reading off and on for about 6 months. Thanks to all who regularly post here, as I have learned some and been inspired a lot! I have been thinking of FIRE for a while now, but only recently found this forum. I thought I would wade in and share my plan to get some more eyes on it. I realize that it is fairly aggressive, but I look at this as my 'best case scenario' plan, realizing that I very well may need to work another 10 years to cover a more reality-based set of assumptions.

Here are the facts:
Married, wife is SAHM with our first kid (and 2 very bad beagles).
Currently making north of 200K a year, but I work as an independent consultant, so that income depends on my ability (and willingness) to keep working in the sector that I currently work for the duration of the plan. I have a unique set of technical skills so I think it is safe to assume that I can continue to earn at this level, but work is still very stressful with some travel (hence the desire to FIRE).

All numbers are after tax (adjusted any pre-tax amounts by dividing total by 1 - estimated future tax rate of 25% - which is very conservative). Also, all numbers are combined his/hers.

IRAs/Solo 401K: 92K. AA is Age in Bonds - 20, Vanguard 3 fund portfolio (Total Stock Market, Total Intl Stock Market, Total Bond). I am comfortable with this as I invested all the way through 2008 until now, though I realize this is easier to do when young and asset poor.

Emergency Fund: 1 year's expenses

2 Rental Properties: Worth 150k combined. Will pay these off by the end of next year, and they will then throw off about 15K in income after all taxes, allowances for repairs and vacancy, etc. They currently throw off around 5K a year in income (due to the mortgages).