Self-Employed and Seeking Semi-Retirement Within 5

Rucco

Confused about dryer sheets
Hello all,

After building up my business for the last 5 years, and now with a 5 year plan to semi-retirement I felt it was time to start researching a solid plan for this. This forum looks great with a ton of supportive people.

I'm an insurance broker in the Medicare supplement insurance market, and thankfully my compensation pays renewal income on each client. So I'm basically building my own annuity and I can easily continue to add to this with a mere 10-15 hours per week or less when the time comes to relax a bit. My business debt will be paid in about 18 months which opens up a huge amount of resources that I really do not have a plan to do anything with.

I would like to have a solid game plan well before that to really hit the ground running. I'm 43 now and while we don't have other investments (other than an emergency savings) it's because the ROI on investing in my business is superior to anything else out there.

Goal is to semi-retire by age 48 or 49. The beauty is I can easily work remotely from anywhere in the world so traveling is absolutely on the list. Quite honestly I likely won't ever "quit" anything completely, in fact I like the idea of maintaining the business (Switch client's policies, service referrals, etc) and keeping busy then, just cut way back on the hours and focusing on growing it.

So that's it for now, just wanted to say hello and I look forward to learning from everyone. Any recommendations are always welcome!

I'm an insurance broker in the Medicare supplement insurance market, and thankfully my compensation pays renewal income on each client.

Welcome Rucco.

Guess I want to avoid buying Medicare supplement insurance!

Welcome Rucco.

Thank you!

Why would you want to avoid buying it? It's some of the best health insurance (especially now) that people will ever see in their life.

Last edited:
Thank you!