55 and ready to go! Can I

bigbuckhunter

Confused about dryer sheets
Hi
I have been reading this forum for about a year now. Lots of interesting stuff!
I work in manufacturing, for 30 years. Way tired of that. I hope/plan to quit soon, if I can.
I'm 55 and want to quit this year.
I will have a pension of 16000/yr at 65.
I will have SS of 26000/yr at 66. This is approximate.
I have about 700k IRA 60/40 stock bond.
I have about 400k taxable mutual funds.
I have about 250K in 401k. 70/30 stock bond.
I don't have any debt. house paid off.
I am currently single-no kids.
I will need 35k-40k/max/yr for living.
I don't want to work part time if I don't want to!
What do you think?!

Welcome here. It looks great. You need to bridge from 55-65 from your savings(40/1350 = 3% WR) and then your SS+Pension kicks in. Also, plan on converting your tax deferred to roth ira along the way. You can get some ideas here.. Retirement Calculator - Parameter Form

Looks to me like you have more than enough given your stated expenses. Enjoy retirement:)

If your after tax spend is truly only $40,000/yr, you should be good to go!

Welcome here. It looks great. You need to bridge from 55-65 from your savings(40/1350 = 3% WR) and then your SS+Pension kicks in. Also, plan on converting your tax deferred to roth ira along the way. You can get some ideas here.. Retirement Calculator - Parameter Form

I'm sorry, but I don't see why he should convert to Roth. The tax-deferred investment will be taxable as regular income as he draws down. His effective tax rate in future looks pretty low.

Am I missing something?

Welcome.

Have you included medical expenses in your plan? Right now it would probably cost you close to $5,000/yr with a $5,000 deductible. At 65 your deductible will go down with Medicare but you premium won't go down very much.