20 Year Guy's Plan for Sucess!

mrmoney

Confused about dryer sheets
Hey everyone, I have been lurking for a while on here, and I thought I post just to see what you all think. Sorry the post in long, but it feels good to talk towards like minded people.

I know I am way too young to know what the future will hold, and I also know I am a ways away from retirement. However, I am not too young to set myself for a hopefully comfortable retirement. I am currently a college student studying Mech Engineering. Hopefully going for masters, as the university partners with local companies to pay for the tuition. Many of those partnered companies offer engineering grads 90k+ jobs out of college. I am quite frugal unless it's something I know I need, or really want. I am very good at not needing the latest and greatest. I shop at goodwill, and I do most shopping online to get the best prices.

Financial details:

College: I have been quite fortunate and unfortunate at the same time. Most of my college is paid for using life insurance money my mom split between my sister and I and put into 529 savings plans. It is unfortunate that I lost my dad in order to pay for college. This should pay for most of my degree. I have had to pay for some things yearly out of my own pocket. When I get to my junior and senior years, I'll have to do a co-op each year to get credit. Minimum hourly wage is 15.00, and most students bank between 25000.00-45000.00 by the time they get their bachoelers degree. If the co-op offers it, I'll put into a 401k and roll it into a Roth IRA when I'm done there. If not, I'll dump it into mutal funds and possibly buy myself a newer used car. We'll see how my cars are in two years.

Taxable Income: 6800.00 yearly