afraid to let go?

pacergal

Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso) Give me a forum ...
I have been reading posts for about a year and find the information interesting, and I am learning a great deal.
Our situation: both public workers >35 years each.
will have guaranteed cola'd pensions with 100% survivorship (I know, I am blessed to have this) that should cover about 90% of our spending, which I have been tracking for 5 years. ( We could roll over our entire pensions which would be 1.2 million, but I think I would prefer the guaranteed for life income)
Also have $442,000 in 457 plan and another $110,000 in an IRA through work
House will be paid off next year. Our emergency fund is low right now due to recent home upgrades.
children independent.
Two FA say we are good to go, now if we want, due to pension.
If I wait until 60, my health insurance will be paid approx 90% until 65 by employer.Both spouse and I plan to work until 11-2016 (when I turn 60) due to that. Not early retirement, but less than 65!
I've run firecalc twice with 2 different spending patterns and it says 100%.Even with that, I keep thinking (worrying) about finances!Hubby wants to go now.

Congratulations on the place you and your wife are in. It's nice to know you've provided for your family and your future--a rare thing indeed.

Healthcare is a major expenditure, and it's very important. It's bad enough to know that most people will be $200K out of pocket for future premiums, deductibles and co-pays.

Hang in there and 11/2016 will be here fast.

Congratulations on the place you and your wife are in. It's nice to know you've provided for your family and your future--a rare thing indeed.

Healthcare is a major expenditure, and it's very important. It's bad enough to know that most people will be $200K out of pocket for future premiums, deductibles and co-pays.

Hang in there and 11/2016 will be here fast.

OP is a woman. :cool: