New to E-R and need help / suggestions

i2d2

Confused about dryer sheets
Hi

I am new to E-R and joined this forum recently and need your help. Thanks in advance, for your perspective, suggestions and help..

Brief background -- self 55, still in wf, wife 49, stay at home mom.. recently sold my primary residence with a plan to down-size and relocate during retirement...most likely in 2-3 years, still working on those details..as I am working those details, I need to invest the cash of about $1M the sale has resulted... This is my primary source for my retirement and am worried not to blew up....

I am thinking of opening VG or Fidelity and dca into s&p500 over the next 12 months or so, to keep it simple...is this a good strategy? I am worried about the plan, keeping in view of the stock market being all time high currently....

any suggestions, help or perspectives please?

tia..

Don't put all your funds in an S&P 500 Index. Diversify between stocks and bonds. Here are a few balanced Vanguard funds you might want to consider if you want a simple all-in-one fund as well as their stock/bond split:

Balanced Index (60/40)
Wellington (65/35)
Wellesley (37/63)
Target Retirement Income (30/70)
LifeStrategy Income (20/80)
LifeStrategy Conservative Growth (40/60)
LifeStrategy Moderate Growth (60/40)

Iirc, Balanced, Wellington and Wellesley funds are primarily US. Target Retirement and LifeStrategy funds also have international equity and bond allocations (30-40%).

The funds listed above are a good choice for simplicity, but for tax efficiency, you may want to consider a simple portfolio which has most of your bonds in an IRA (if you have one) and stocks in your after tax account. Do you have any other funds in an IRA or 401(k)?

Also, it is not clear when you need these funds - are you planning to use them to buy another house?