New Engineer Switches Career to Become a Financial Advisor.

hitnuggs

Dryer sheet wannabe
I thought this might be interesting for the group so here it goes. I'm an engineer that manages a group of about 6 and we had just hired a fresh graduate about 4 months ago. She is incredibly sharp but she decided that engineering is not for her (I'm not biased at all :) ). Instead she is going to start her career as a financial advisor. She will be a personal assistant to a successful mentor and hopefully she will follow in her footsteps. I wish her luck but I didn't have the heart to mention that she is getting into sales. She was very excited about helping people achieve their financial goals. I wish her the best but I think she will be shocked that the majority of her success will include pushing product.

Sent from my iPhone using Early Retirement Forum

When I hear stories like this I wonder whether this career move is prompted by a search for a culture that is perceived to be more female friendly. Notice that I said "perceived".

My son told me of a coworker who left engineering soon after graduation to join a ministry. Strange things happen!

My daughter used to work with a guy who never worked as an engineer despite his ME degree. Perhaps he had trouble finding work as an engineer after graduation, but he was happy doing bookkeeping.

One of our sharper young engineers quit after only five months. She basically told me working 55+ hours a week but getting paid forty wasn't her idea of a career. I didn't try to change her mind.

But she switched to work insurance! Told me she loves it so far, they have her doing risk assessment so she gets to poke her nose into a variety of businesses and, you know, asses risk. I don't think I could do it, I only seem to get satisfaction from seeing a physical product getting built.