Good time for a Roth Conversion?

Dreaming of Freedom

Recycles dryer sheets
The markets have taken a bit of a tumble this week; of course we never know where the bottom is, or when the market will turn around. Keeping that in mind, would now be a good time to do a Roth Conversion? I have never done one before, so I would love some feedback from ya'll. Can I just choose to convert equities &/or international funds? What is your Roth Conversion plan for this year?

That was my thought too.

I just need to get around to doing it before the market recovers...

I can be a good time, unless a better time comes before the end of the year.

I convert some of the shares of one mutual fund or ETF into one new Roth account. I do that for several different funds at the start of the year. If any of those funds hits -10% from the first conversion price, I convert the same mutual fund a second time. If it keeps going down I'll try to keep converting, as long as the shares last. Normally I'll end up with 2x to 3x more Roth conversions than I can keep. In March the next year I pick out the best performing funds and keep those Roth accounts. The rest get recharacterized back into an IRA, as if they were never converted (although there are tax form explanations required).

So yeah, it's a good time to Roth convert. I just converted into 3 or 4 new Roth accounts. But you may need to do it again before the end of the year. And if you decide at tax time next year that you shouldn't have converted, you can recharacterize all or part of your conversions. So no real risk other than paperwork.

Have you gone through the basic "TIRA vs Roth" question yet?
from Roth IRA Rules of Thumb - Fairmark.com Fairmark.com

"Roth account vs. deductible contribution