Online banking exclusively?

Uncle Lumpy

Dryer sheet aficionado
<mods, please feel free to move this if I've put it in the wrong forum>

Hi all,

I've been banking online since 2002. Even though my main bank was an "online only" bank with no brick & mortar locations, I always kept a few thousand $$$s in a local bank as a fall back source of cash if some weird sort of "cash only" emergency came up. During those 15 years I've never needed that local bank other than as a convenient place to do ATM withdrawals.

Have any of you moved to online banking exclusively with no local banking presence? I'm thinking about moving in that direction as part of my "simplify prior to retirement" movement.

Thanks,
Lumpy

We left brick and mortar banking behind in November 2014. What questions can I answer?

99% of my banking is done online, and has been for several decades.

But I've always maintained a small account at a local bank for a couple of reasons.

First, I want a source of customized cash. If I use an ATM, all I can get is $20s. Sometimes I want $50s or $100s and for that I need a real bank.

Second, I occasionally need to have something notarized, and I like being able to just go down the street to the bank for that service.

I've never had much money in a local bank so it's not a huge deal -- I'm only giving up a few bucks a year in interest. But the convenience is certainly worth that.

Some brokerages will notarize documents. When we have the need, I drop by the local Fidelity office.

99% of my banking is done online, and has been for several decades.

But I've always maintained a small account at a local bank for a couple of reasons.

First, I want a source of customized cash. If I use an ATM, all I can get is $20s. Sometimes I want $50s or $100s and for that I need a real bank.

Second, I occasionally need to have something notarized, and I like being able to just go down the street to the bank for that service.