23-Year Old In Very Liquid Position

StockSlinger

Confused about dryer sheets
Hey all,

I've recently joined your great forums and have a quick question for you.

I'm a 23-year old trader from Chicago and have been blessed to find a great job that pays me well. I have zero debts currently and have about $150,000 just sitting in a high-yield savings account. I've allocated $50,000 (2 years expenses) allocated to a separate savings account as an emergency fund. While I realize this is very high, my compensation can vary tremendously so I upped the traditional recommendation for an emergency fund by a good deal.

Now with the remaining $100,000, I'm considering three main options: invest using an asset allocation plan I've developed for long-term appreciation, purchase a home to live in, or delay the decision by approximately a year until my current lease runs up at which time I may wish to purchase a home.

Now some basic information about me; my compensation currently is between 150k-250k, although it will likely increase a good deal in the next few years. However, this number can vary which is why I wish to be extra cautious. My current monthly expenses are around 2000-2500 I would guess, although I don't keep an exact budget.

Out of the three options, I'm leaning towards diving into the market and holding out on any real estate endeavors as I don't want to deal with the responsibilities of owning a home. I have a long-term girlfriend I'm currently living with, and although we could use a bit more space, I'm a diehard LBYM type guy and don't want to let lifestyle inflation keep up with my compensation. That being said, it does irk me a little to be paying rent to a landlord when I could be building equity in a place of my own.