50, FERS Military Tech possible retirement strategies

Tankernav

Confused about dryer sheets
Hi, I am an officer in the air national guard serving as a a dual status civil service technician. When I am forced to retire militarily, then I will be forced into civil service retirement (similar to capitol police, fed LEOs). So, unless I land an active duty tour and take a leave of absence from the national guard civil service, I will retire militarily and civil service wise next April at the age of 51 with 33 years of military and 25 years of FERS.

Here's what I was thinking and want feedback from the forum on the plan.

April 2016 I start my civil service annuity with the annuity supplement, and break up my TSP (401K) into equal monthly payments to gap the time from civil service retirement until age 60 when my military pension begins. I realize I have to pay the 10% penalty and am comfortable with that, and in Kansas the dept of revenue decided last year not to tax TSP withdrawals as income since it was part of a defined federal pension.

So, retiring April 2016 my net income between working and retirement is only a few hundred dollars difference. At age 60, my TSP is depleted and military retirement kicks in which increases my monthly net by at least 1000.00 a month. At age 62, Social security starts and annuity supp stops but amount received from SS is quite a bit more than the supplement.

Health insurance wise, I will pay my civil service insurance until age 60 when tricare starts and at age 65 tricare for life and medicare kick in (basically no health bills to me for the rest of my life....provided the govt stays solvent and massive reforms to pensions, tricare, etc don't sink the ship.

Questions?

Do I need to have a big cash reserve on hand for anything?

This plan with pensions has me living on allowances but in a way which is very comfortable.

Would you use the TSP in a different fashion?