Got some free time? Help me build a budget for

Sam said:
I have been considering myself frugal for the last 15 years.  I wonder how many people have quietly laughed at me for being so naive  :-[

Well, this is an ER forum, which is clearly a minority pursuit/interest/hobby in America in 2006. So that makes the selection unrepresentative of the general population right there. And then you look at responses from (what looks like) the extreme LBYM fringe of the forum, so naturally you get a distorted picture.

Just because there are people who are even more frugal than you are doesn't mean that you are not vastly more frugal than John Q. Public. It's just that in a country of $300 million, there will almost always be someone better at X than you. Remember Ted Kaczynski, who lived on $300/year? :D

Scrooge said:
I admire a guy who manages to stay married while living on $26K/y!  :D

I use to be even more cheap, but I've loosen the wallet the past couple of years. :)
Actually I'm lucky because my DW dosn't like want to live simple and not have a lot of stuff.
Be she does like to eat out.... might have something to do with not cooking & cleaning. :-[

Anyway... If you look at the average household median income which is about 45K. Subtract 6K income tax. Subtract 3.6K SSI tax. You can see the average household only takes home 35.4K. We paid off our house so we don't have a mortage. That's about 9K/year we don't pay. The average houselond has 2 kids, while we have none. What I'm getting is 26K/year may seem low, but we live at the standard of living most of America lives at.

dmpi said:
Yes. We live a state that has no sales tax on food. We also shop at the asian markets & the gas station turned vegi-market. So our food cost is real low. Also we don't eat a lot of meats. Most of the time we eat out at a Red Robin or Applebyees or something like that. Yumm...

Yes, I bow down to the Master too. May the FIRE force be with you. :)

dmpi said: