LTCGS at 0% tax.

Time2

Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
I'm contemplating selling shares of a mutual fund in a taxable account 2024, for income and to reset the price. I have been doing Roth Conversions for a few years and starting to wonder if I should have done this different.
If it matters, I expect our kids will inherit more assets than we have at present, (we over saved).
After 2024 we will start SS, This will add almost $60k of forced income,
reducing any Roth Conversions or LTCGs we may have while staying in a lower tax bracket.
We live well under the $117,000 of taxable account LTCGs that can be withdrawn at 0% tax rate. Of course we will have some Dividends and interest that must also be figured into the $117,000, to stay under the higher tax number. But I would reinvest $40k to $50k back into the market.

My question is, Should I do one more year of Roth Conversions or sell LTCGs and pay $0 on the gains?

Also, How does it work, Do you pay 0% up to the number and then 15% after that or does going over the number trigger 15% on all the withdrawal?

https://www.cnbc.com/2023/02/15/her...023-and-pay-0percent-capital-gains-taxes.html

The LTCGs will transfer tax free due to the step up in basis upon death of the owner.
Since you said your kids will inherit some $$.
Leaving them tax free money will be better than an IRA.

The first X amount of LTCGs is 0%, then the next Y amount is 15%, the next Z amount is 20% , so going over the 0% bracket by $1.00 means you pay 15 cents in total.

Just thinking about it,

it's probably most tax efficient to do a mix of Conversion and LTCG's.

You could convert and stay in the 10% bracket and then LTCG's above that. When you start RMD's you will be higher than 10% probably.

The LTCGs will transfer tax free due to the step up in basis upon death of the owner.
Since you said your kids will inherit some $$.
Leaving them tax free money will be better than an IRA.

So, inheriting LTCGs are even better than a Roth inheritance?