New here

MelWel

Confused about dryer sheets
I am a scientist, a researcher, a wife (13 years), and a mom (of a toddler). I have been working hard and saving for retirement since I was 21 (even when I was in graduate school). I have hit a point where it looks like I will have enough to retire on when I am 65. That is a good thing because ever since I had my son I have been dealing with work issues where I have been labelled as "not committed" and "not willing to put in the long work hours, the 80 hours, that this job requires".

So, although I am working, I have mentally quit some of the rat race aspects of it. I try to enjoy my job. I used to be someone that had to be at the very top. Now, I realize that if I get fired because I am only willin gto put in 40 hours it is no big deal.

Must be a really exciting job to go to all the trouble to get a degree so you can work 80hr weeks,i'd be looking for a similar job in a company that does a normal 40hrs..
Welcome to the forum.

"White collar sweat shops" - my favorite phrase for professional jobs will ridiculous work environments.

First, welcome to the Forum!

I just wanted to chime in on working mothers (since I am one). Don't be afraid to look for another job that allows you to have balance. There ARE companies out there where employees have work/life balance - maybe not a lot of companies, but there are some. I work for a company that is listed consistently on the top 25 companies for working moms by Working Mother magazine. We have opportunities to work flexibly, work remotely, work reduced hours (for reduced pay, of course)... but they are all things that can really make life sane. Even if your company doesn't have any formalized program, sometimes it's just a matter of finding the right boss.

Charlotte

Welcome to the forum. White collar sweatshop sounds appropriate in your case:rant:. Some places seem to forget that you work for a living, not live to work.

Best of luck.