Open both Fidelity and Charles Schwab?

scottl73

Dryer sheet wannabe
I've seen people have both. For what reason would you want or need to open an account with both Fidelity and another on-line brokerage company? Why no have all your money in the same place? I'm new to all this.

I wound up with schwab due to the TDAmeritrade deal.

I recently opened a new fee HSA account with Fidelity because I got tired of paying fees with Health Equity, and having limited investment options.

1. IMHO Fidelity's Retirement Income Planner is way better than any planning tool Schwab offers.

2. SIPC does NOT cover you in the event of brokerage firm insolvency. It is the required segregation of assets (firm/customer) that does.

SPIC is only $500k at each. I am thinking of having one for Taxables and the other for IRAs.

If you are a couple you can have three accounts with $500K coverage for each account: one in your name, one in her name, and one in both names (joint).

Regardless of SPIC insurance, having money in two places isn't a terrible idea.

I know that during the 2007–2008 financial crisis I was glad to have cash in more than one place. If "bad things" happen, you money may not be as accessible as you expect for a while.

I have a Schwab account, but I opened it mainly for their investor checking and the no international fees ATM card. Later I bought SCHD there because no fees. ETFs are no fee now at Fidelity.

Otherwise all at Fidelity. When we quit traveling internationally I’ll probably transfer all assets to Fidelity.

Other than brokerage accounts I have several high yield savings accounts and some checking accounts. This takes care of short-term fund needs in case of a disruption. The multiple high-yield savings accounts also makes it easy to take advantage of short-term CD special offers.

Last edited: