Possible NEC Violation?

eytonxav

Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso) Give me a forum ...
Recently discovered that our builder has our builtin microwave and our gas range hood wired together on a single 20a breaker. I believe per NEC, the maximum recommend amps for a 20a circuit is 16a.

That said, my GE microwave shows 1.65 kw on the sticker inside the microwave, but their spec sheet claims 1200 microwave watts.

Since the hood is rated at 4.1a @120, if I use 1.65kw on the microwave, this would push these two appliance over 16a vs using 1200W which would not.

Wondering if any of our EEs knowledgeable in residential wiring can advise?

I am an amateur, so take with a grain of salt...

I believe per NEC, the maximum recommend amps for a 20a circuit is 16a continuous or 20a non-continuous..

amps = 1000 × kilowatts / volts
So, the microwave amps = 1000 * 1.65 / 115v = 14.34amps

For a total 4.1 + 14.34 = 18.44a

It is non-continuous, so I would think it is ok.

The NEC is pretty clear on this topic but people still debate it. The first thing to do is to check what the installation instructions for the microwave and hood say. If either says that it must be on an individual (or dedicated) branch circuit, there is no argument - the installation instructions rule in that case.

Here's what the 2005 NEC says:

422.16(B)(4)Range Hoods.
Range hoods shall be permitted to be cord-and-plug connected with a flexible cord identified as suitable for use on range hoods in the installation instructions of the appliance manufacturer[FONT=inherit !important][FONT=inherit ! important][/FONT][/FONT], where all of the following conditions are met:
(1) The flexible cord is terminated with a grounding- type attachment plug.