Refinance with Amerisave

clifp

Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso) Give me a forum ...
I think the Fed getting serious about raising interest rates. So I've decided that its time I convert my HELCO and Pledged asset variable loans which are currently at ~3.75% to a 15 year fixed.

After doing a lot of searching I've narrowed it down to three companies.
Penfed
Quicken/Schwab (Quicken gives Schwab customers with more than $1 million in assets .25% off their loans)
and
Amerisave mortgage.
I've settled on a 3% 15 year fixed mortgage so the only issue is points+closing costs.

I've had a lot of experience with both Penfed and Schwab/Quicken and especially with Schwab I know it will be a straight forward process.

But Amerisave quoted me a loan that is almost $7,000 less in closing cost than Quicken and $9,000 less than Penfed, which is real money.

Amerisave has rather checkered past both on this forum, and else where and got hit up with a $21 Million fine from the CFPB for deceptive practices.

Has anybody had recent experience with Amerisave (last 5 years or so)?

Quicken is NOT a low cost lender. The Schwab discount does not change that. I would avoid them. PenFed has good rates on some products. Try Aimloan if your file is easy to underwrite. Their rates and fees are very low. www.aimloan.com

A good loan broker can save you more than the Quicken folks and should offer rates that are the same or better than Aimloan. A good one can help you with underwriting issues as well.

My friend and my daughter used Amerisave for new purchases and a friends parents used them for a refi. There was a little work involved for the borrowers, but they all went well.

I have refi'd several times with both Amerisave and AIM. Both were fine. I had no problems.

I have refi'd several times with both Amerisave and AIM. Both were fine. I had no problems.

I decide to go with them today.