28-year-old Newbie

amyj05

Dryer sheet aficionado
Hello everyone! :greetings10:

My name is Amy and I'm from southern Virginia. I am new to the FIRE community. I found this site after reading every single post on Mr. Money Mustache's blog. That blog really did change my life! I only wish I had found it sooner. I do not plan on retiring "early" by most people's standards. My goal is simply to be able to comfortably retire at age 60.

I work as a nurse and DH is a cook. We make a combined income of ~68k annually. Though this isn't a lot of money, we live in a very low COL area. We have no student loan or credit card debt. The only things we owe money on are our house and DH's car. My car is already paid off. I have an IRA which I opened several years ago and don't really contribute much to it right now, since my ultimate goal is to have DH's car and our house paid off in the next 5 years. :dance:

I also have a 401K through my employer, which I am contributing 8% to and my company matches 4%. After the car and house are paid off, I plan on increasing our savings to 40% of our income.

I look forward to learning about FIRE, investing, real estate, and anything else I can from this site. I've enjoyed what I've read so far!

At any rate welcome to the forum and congratulations on making a goal and a plan to get there.

Best of luck.

Welcome! While it's too early to make detailed plans for transition jobs, one nice thing about both your careers is that they lend themselves to part time jobs more easily than many.

But you're young and have lots of time to let your good habits pay off with a secure future!

Welcome aboard. Lots of knowledge and experience around these parts. Soak it up and learn as much as you can and you'll be in great shape.