Join Early Retirement Today

49 year old pofessional wondering retiring at 50
Old 08-11-2008, 12:59 PM   #1
Confused about dryer sheets

49 year old pofessional wondering retiring at 50

Hi there,
I'm a recently widowed lawyer and the mother of 2 adorable daughters, both will soon graduate from college. Following the unexpected death of my late husband this past April (and my former husband in July), I begin to see life at a totally different angle. After working continuously for 24 years and having experienced through different phases of my life (wife, mother, divorcee and widow), I am planning to live life in my own term and start getting new visions and experiences. Early retirement is therefore high on my agenda.

Financially speaking, I guess I am doing fine. I have been investing in the stock and real estate market (plus the family estates that I inherited from my late husbands) for years and that should ride me over for a reasonable period of time. But what puzzle me most is whether I could really slow down and adjust to the relatively quiet life that I was hoping so long for. Since I will be selling my law partnership before I retire (I plan moving to New Zealand afterwards), there is no turning back on my decision. I last thing I want is to making a decision that I'll regret later on. I just wish to get some advice from forum member who had already made the decision and I would appreciate some experience sharing. Thanks
phase3jrl is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!