All FIREd up in New Hampshire

jonat

Recycles dryer sheets
Greetings, all...

I am a software engineer in New Hampshire who was "made an offer I couldn't refuse" for early retirement. I will be working through the end of the year and then retiring - I'll be 62 next year - my wife will turn 65 - she retired 15 years ago.

I HAD been planning on working to 65 or 66, but a number of changes at my employer (which has been good to me in general) convinced me that I made the right decision.

Financially, we are in pretty good shape - at least that's what our adviser tells us. We have lived below our means for many years and have saved and prepared well. So does that mean that I'm calm and collected and ready? Heck no! I'm still scared about no longer working for the first time in 38 years, and wondering how it will affect me psychologically.

Hoping to pick up some tips from others, and perhaps share things I have learned.

Steve

Welcome Steve. You'll find lots of helpful friendly people here, so feel free to post any questions you have. I'm still working, but lots of people here express some trepidation, even if they're eager to FIRE as well.

As long as you don't drive wifey crazy you'll be fine!

Steve to Steve

As one engineer to another, congrats. I retired six months ago and couldn't be happier. My tips? Exercise, travel, stay social through church, charitable work, hobbies and dinner with friends. Also if you can find part time fun work, I'm doing one or two days a week political consulting (long story) then I recommend it. That nagging worry you might not have enough in spite of your advisor is much reduced if you can still earn some income. Plus it keeps that engineering brain tuned up just in case the worst happened and had to go back to the office full time. But mostly enjoy life and extra time with your spouse and family.