Greetings from stressed out lawyer trying to wind down

caracol7

Dryer sheet wannabe
I'm a 50 year old lawyer in Arizona. After 25 years of stressful law practice, I'm just now seriously considering my retirement options. I've run multiple calculations through mutilple retirement planning calculators, including FireCalc. I'm no longer relying on potential lottery winnings as part of my calcualtions. I still have two kids in college and have some a small balance on a mortgage to payoff. Those obligations (sorry kids . . . didn't mean to call you an obligation) will be satisfied in a few years. I can see light at the end of the tunnel. However, I have some questions and concerns I hope I can get answered in this forum.

I'm wondering what it is like to go from a 50 - 60 hr/week high stress job to retirement. I think I'll need to wind down in phases. I'm not able to sit still in one place very long. My wife and I have a shared/fractional home in Mexico we visit 6 weeks a year and we have been trying to learn Spanish for 2 + years. I'd like to go to Mexico for 3 - 6 months as a volunteer to teach English as a foreign language. I think that would help us become truly fluent. It would also allow me to give something back to the Mexican people I've thought about spending part of my future life in Mexico, perhaps Manzanillo or Guadalajara area. Any comments or suggestions so far?

I've lived in one state all my life and would like to spend 2 or 3 months at a time living in other parts of the country or world. The places on my list include NYC, Washington DC, Colorado (Summit County), Italy and Costa Rica. Any suggestions on how to find comfortable but reasonably priced housing for that type of thing?