Hello, I am OVER.IT!

FrugalMcDougal

Dryer sheet aficionado
I’ve been working in an industry that I have mostly hated for 25 years. I am a soon to be 50y/o gypsy and artist at heart. Early on I realized starving artist would not look good on me. So, I chose a path I knew I would not necessarily enjoy, but that would assure me a larger income and speedier time to retirement doing the things I love- travel, art, cooking, reading... you name it. I made a switch to a different company and service line almost 2 years ago. I only needed about 4-5 years until I was FIRED. Well, that’s not going to happen. I am absolutely miserable and have worked like a dog with zero acknowledgment or reward. I’m pulling the plug early. I don’t care if that means fewer $$$ vacations, holding on to my 10yr car a few more years, or doing my own hair/nails. My own piece of mind and health are simply no longer worth the price I am paying in Corporate America. I have convinced my boss it is better I go this way with Cobra covered and 6 mo severance. In the meantime I have made a list of all the things I intend to do this summer. I have hope and excitement- the first in years! I do wake up and worry about running out of money- but I have healthcare training. Worst comes to worst, I’ll pull the plug when I run out of money (joking! I think?)