Hi There. Is this a smart decision?

Sidekickeh

Dryer sheet wannabe
Hi guys. I am new to these forums, however thought that it may be a good place to learn about and discuss the fact that I am contemplating making a major life decision. I am 32 years old, and am planning an early retirement this year. I know that many of you probably will not agree with this, and it goes against the norm, but I invest for a living, and am planning to live exclusivly off of my investments.

I currently have approxamately $325K USD in my total portfolio, which generates on average $10,000 - $40,000 NET per month. Sometimes more, very rarely less. The portfolio is comprised almost 100% of alternative investments. The portfolio is very nicely diversified, and I am happy with where all my funds are parked for the long-term, but also have contingency plans in place if performance starts to suffer. I constantly scout out new opportunities for further diversification (i will never retire from this).

To complete this plan, I am planning on making the transition to move to either Panama, or Uruguay (still undecided at this point). Mainly for a few reasons. The primary one being cost (twice the lifestyle, half the price), but also tax minimisation reasons. I would give up residency in my home country (Canada), which means I need to sever ties, and stay out of Canada for more than 6 months of the year. The plan is to reside in Panama/Uruguay (where my dollar goes much further) for the winter season, and then return to "visit" Canada in the summer months. My significant other and myself have been working on all the details of the snowbird details. We would basically rent while in Canada, and look to own, while in Panama/Uruguay, and renting out that residence while in Canada.