Join Early Retirement Today

Hi, This is 40 year old and wondering
Old 11-11-2010, 03:18 PM   #1
Recycles dryer sheets

Hi, This is 40 year old and wondering

Hi all,

First time poster, long time reader. I’m big fan of Nord, RichinTampa, and the like for their analytical though, and sound comments.

My wife and I are 40. My dream to retire as early as possible was inspired by reading endless success stories on this site. We have a 5 year-old twins. I came to this great country when I was 22 (growing up in communist society, I appreciate the political system here very much, I know it's not perfect). Work full-time to fund my education. Start an entry “professional” job in 2002 with $48K salary. Along the way I got my master degree and with that currently get pay twice as what I started. If I keep working, I can retired with a nice pension at 58 YO, and a sizable 401K. But my goal is to retire earlier than that. But doing so I would give up pension and health insurance.

As most of first generation immigrant, we always LBYM, and save as much as we can.

We have a house worth about 500K, with 13 years $135K mortgage. We are refinancing to 10 year 3.6% rate. I expect the monthly payment ~ $1700. In 2008, at the high of foreclosure wave in our area, I bought a 3 year old home at an auction. I paid about 200K what it appraised by county about $344K. Since then, we manage to pay off the 2nd home. It’s been rented out for $1500/month. We could get a bit higher, but reluctant to raise the rent because the tenant is very good so far. Beside the mortgage, there’s no other debt. Given the current economic situation, it’s unlikely that value of both houses would go down substantially.