I'd like to retire before 60

snowbunny27

Confused about dryer sheets
Hi I'm Erika. I'm 40 and I have been investing in a 401k (matched) since 1997.
The problem I had to reduce my percentage around 2008 due to the economy etc. Also years 2006 - 2007 I was contracting I wasn't contributing during those years.
So I have about 183k between a Roth and 401ks.
The hubby has about 120k saved and he is 6 years younger (34).
How can I retire before age 60? Any other savings suggestions?

Welcome Erika.

Whether or not you can retire at 60 depends on what your projected spending will be in retirement and any projected income you expect. I am not sure anyone can give you a meaningful answer without that at a minimum.

As is always the case with retirement saving/planning - the more you save and the less you plan to spend after retiring, the earlier you can retire. It's simple, but not easy.

Welcome to the forum!

Unless you have another source of income like pension you're going to need a lot more than you have now. It can be done, depending on your income, what you spend, and how much you can save between now and then. That said, others have done it but it takes diligence and self-discipline.

Here are a few questions that you need to have solid answers to before retiring:

http://www.early-retirement.org/for...re-asking-can-i-retire-69999.html#post1399715

Time is your ally when it comes to saving for retirement, and it's good you're still young. It's also important to make proper decisions with your investment portfolio balancing risks and rewards with costs of maintaining your accounts. We don't have any control over some issues--like inflation--that is a big part of being able to retire.