I'm Dreaming of a Part-time 2014

HtownRose

Recycles dryer sheets
I'm a 46-year old account manager at an insurance broker with no spouse/kids, a decent amount of assets & a very low cost of living. I could very easily live (& still save) on half of my current salary, & think I would find my life much more to my liking with less hours spent at the office, so I'm here to solicit advice on selling my current employer on a reduced-hours arrangement.

The barriers to my going part-time: I have clients that would need to be taken care of when I'm not there, so I have to make the case that my assistant can take care of them in my absence (she can - she's the best assistant I've ever had), or I need to be moved to a team that has more than 1 account manager so the other one is my backup, or I need a new position that does not involve the daily client service that I now perform.

I was able to successfully negotiate a (larger than normal) raise a few years back when I had an unsolicited offer from a competing firm, so I believe they will want to keep me, & the reduction in my salary will be appealing to them, but I'm not at all sure they will be open to my working part-time. Any advice welcome & thank you in advance!

(My motivation is primarily to gain more free time for care of an elderly mom & improving my own health/fitness, but I also have philosophical/political reasons for wanting to go Galt-ish.)

Who is John Galt?

I will be going a similar path. I believe work (the production of value) is a good and desirable thing so my idea of retirement includes work. However, being mostly FI, it is nice to be able to choose the work (where, when, and not worry about how much.)