Moved, retired, happy

DeborahB

Full time employment: Posting here.
Hi! I was on this forum years ago and recently re-joined. I’m

I’m 70. Retired at 62, never will be employed again. I’m living very comfortably on stock dividends and interest. At 67 I left my prior life and no longer significant other, and moved back to New England, to my home town. I bought a house and have a large mortgage. Seemed better financially than selling investments to pay for it. Big change.

I’m comfortable financially, enjoy living alone and seeing friends. Moving back was the best thing I’ve done in years. I’m an artist and if I can get the studio unpacked I’ll be doing that again.

I live in an area with a village-to-village group. I didn’t know that when I moved! I plan to take advantage of it at some point. And there are uber, lyft, Grubhub and instacart. I have intermittent chronic fatigue syndrome so I often have groceries delivered, or meals. I like to save my energy for having fun, and it doesn’t end up that expensive.

I have macular degeneration which makes driving at night uncomfortable. That’s not fun. I need to try again with yellow glasses for glare reduction. That’s somewhat limiting, but I can take uber if I’m somewhere they work.

I chose well, considering there were very few houses available at the time. The house was completely rehabbed in 2014. New barhrooms, kitchen, retrofitted with central air. It’s a 1940 bungalow, with a master and bath on the first floor. Another first floor bath with a shower is going to get stacked laundry put in it.

Feeling like I’m babbling a bit... hi to all.

Sounds wonderful. Welcome back. The health issues are unfortunate, but it sounds like you’re dealing with them very well. I’m excited for you.

Welcome back DeborahB. You have company with other babblers on this site, who tell some good stories.

There's no place like home

I’m 70. Retired at 62

At 67 I... moved back to New England, to my home town