my introduction

medved

Recycles dryer sheets
Great forum -- I look forward to participating. I am a 52 year old professional guy. Wife does not work. One kid in college and the other in high school. We have money put aside for their college, in 529 plans.

I have worked really hard at my career -- too hard, if I am to be honest -- long hours, a lot of stress, and really no such thing as "time off." I gave up a lot.

For many years, I sort of enjoyed it. Or at least I enjoyed being successful at it -- the pay, status, etc. But these days I am not enjoying it. I'm tired and annoyed. And the profession in changing. So I am starting to plan my escape.

This would be really unusual at my company. Most people stay until their mid to late 60s, and many stay longer - some into their 80s. Retiring at 55 or so would be extremely unusual -- nearly unheard of. That is one reason I am grateful for this forum, because in my "real life" I know nearly no one who has retired early.

I have done a pretty good job of saving. I have a bit more than $10 million in taxable accounts and around $2.5 million in tax deferred. I have no debt and a house that is paid for and probably worth around $1.2mm When I retire, I will get around $1 million paid out over a few years, but beyond that no pension or retiree medical.

My overall portfolio allocation is currently around 70% equities and 30% fixed income. I am one year into a 5 year plan to incrementally reduce my exposure to equities -- the idea being to be at 40/60 or thereabout at the time of retirement. Depending on the amount I can contribute in the next few years, I may have to accept a fair amount of capital gain in order to execute this plan. I suppose I will have to either accept that a "price" for the re-balancing I want to achieve, or accept more risk than I think is optimal for me, in order to minimize tax liability. Any thoughts on that would be appreciated.