Newly retired

muchohucho

Confused about dryer sheets
Hi,
I just joined this group as I will be "retiring" in two weeks. I don't like to call it retiring but I am quiting my current job with the State of Alaska. I have 21 years of service in which is not the normal 30 years considered full retirement.

I am a male, 53 years old, and was driving 100 miles per day and dealing with nauseating bureaucracy, so got out. I have been saving a big chunk of my pay check for the last 14 years to do this. My partner did the same thing but quit last year. We will live off savings/unearned income until our pension checks start coming in at 60. They will be reduced pensions, but we have and enjoy a frugal lifestyle. Our house is paid off, we have no serious debts (I'm paying off my car but the balance is negligible really).

Looking forward to ADVICE on portfolio management for income. We are both very conservative with our money and granted we would be in a much better financial position had we been fully invested, personally I have a hard time stomaching ups and downs of the market and have little trust after losing quite a bit of money in the Dot com bust in 2000. But NOW would really like to get some decent income coming in. Maybe even get educated on Options.
Otherwise, I'll be fishing, hiking, birding, gardening and a little hunting on the side. Hopefully some good travelling too, lower 48 and overseas. Looking for good advice on budget travelling too!

Congrats on getting ready to wrap up w*rk!