Join Early Retirement Today

Noob with ER dreams and many questions
Old 04-05-2012, 12:56 PM   #1
Confused about dryer sheets

Noob with ER dreams and many questions

Hello all! DH and I turn 60 this year and dreams of retirement are getting more realistic every day. DH still works FT, I 'retired' years ago.

We have a pretty nice nest egg with a 1.5 mil IRA (mostly stocks), a pension, and some cash. We just refinanced our home and will save four years on payments - ten years left. No other debts.

This is where the questions start. I am a total noob, dunce, ignoramus as far as retirement planning. I have no idea where to even begin.

Do I add up all our financial assets and plug them into FireCalc?

Should I sell most of the stock holdings and put them into funds?

How do I find a good health care provider?

As you can tell, I don't really even know what questions to ask and I'm a bit embarrassed about it.

Where and how do I start figuring this out

Thanks for reading this far - you deserve a !

Marge

Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!