Please allow me to introduce myself - you know the rest of the song.

Alvin Tostig

Recycles dryer sheets
Okay,

I signed up a few months ago and have found this sight to be a real great resource. I think I'm ready for a peer review.

I'm 59 1/2, DW is 56.

So, I work for a mega-corp (once a small company, but with some many acquisitions, mergers, etc. we are a giant). I've been here for 25 years!

Every day I'm here is somewhat of a mental struggle. Lots of in-fighting, power struggles, etc..too much "noise' not relating to the overall objectives of the firm. Also, lots of hours. There were lots of recent layoffs, and I would have been okay with a severance package...but now I'm left here to pick up the slack for those who departed.

I run a division of the company, and they pay me well ($190K), with good benefits. I'm at the OMY syndrome, but I could definitely see the light at the end of the tunnel. I'm also a part-time professor, so I make some extra money doing that.

DW is in sales (no benefits), and her annual income ranges from $25,000 to $60,000. Kids are on their own and self-sufficient.

Net worth right now is $2.1 million, and that includes my house which is completely paid off. So, $1.65+ without the house. I'm going to reassess my portfolio, but I'm probably 70% in equities, 15% bonds, 15% cash.
No debts, except for a tiny HELOC of $7,000 at 2.24%. I max out on 401K, HSA, ESPP's, etc. we live under our means. I'm rebalancing, to reduce exposure.

So, I'm here for you to hit me over the head with a 2 X 4, if I work one day at mega-corp after 61. That's 17 months down the road, in May 2017. Better yet, I would really prefer to bow out right after I turn 60. (beginning of May 2016).