Re: Hi, I'm Nords.  (All together now:  "Hi, Nords

C

Cut-Throat

so I retired the minute that I was eligible (June 2002). I haven't had a haircut since then.

I know what you mean here. I was in the Navy from 71-75 and I did not get a haircut until 1977!

I was an Electronics Tech (training devices for Navy Pilots) Flight trainers etc.

I have not been in an office for 2 1/2 years now. "They" say if you leave work for 18 months - "you'll never go back".

Re:  Living Hawaiian style

Well, Ronin, I've definitely gotten into the North Shore surf-- into my nose, my ears, my shorts, and finally into those old coral heads around the shorebreak. I'm going to be quite happy piddling around at White Plains before I try another North Shore winter. Maybe a shorter board, too. I should go out every day but I barely make it twice a week. ("But waddya DO all day?!?") My daughter is about to start tae kwan do and if it's easier on the joints than judo, then I'll start it too... anything to improve my balance and speed up my turns.

GDER, you'd fit right in here. The "Paradise Tax" is about 25% but much of that is food, healthcare, and housing-- the first two not an issue for military retirees. Military is the third-largest industry (after tourism & civil servants) so our bases won't close. The islands now grow more than 50% of our vegetables & fruits so we're not as dependent on shipping, and if you eat local food (instead of box cereal and Mainland beef) then it's even cheaper. Crippler, I mean Tripler Hospital has mostly sent us retirees out to civilian doctors so I'm much less worried about my health.

Real estate is ludicrous. The typical family home is 3 BR/1600 sq ft shoehorned onto a 4500 sq ft lot (1/10th acre). Prices range from $250K-$650K. Low interest rates have spurred an affordable housing boom but it still chews up a chunk of budget. We bought a decaying fixer-upper on 1/3 acre and it's doubled in price in three years.