Retiring / Accept part time consulting with current employer?

steveinjersey

Dryer sheet wannabe
I am retiring at age 60 in a couple of months after 37 years at a large company! Some days I am excited and on others I am wishing that my retirement date would hurry up and get here! No regrets with my decision to retire.

My boss didn't want to lose me and has offered twice my current rate to work part time as a consultant. I believe that as a consultant I would be required to file taxes quarterly and pay double social security and Medicare taxes. Detailed expense records also would need to be maintained. I don't want to complicate my life at this point. The tax/expense record side of his looks like a headache even if the money makes sense for the work performed. I don't need the money. I don't need tax stress.

This consulting work would be a favor to a good boss and friend. I almost wish that I hated my boss.

I would be interested in reading experiences of anyone else who wanted to move on to a simple life in retirement when a good boss is asking for a favor to hang on as a consultant.

Thanks!

Steve

Not exactly the same, but I did go part time (3 days per week) for the last two years. he thing I found very interesting is that the less I worked, the hard it was to go in to work on the other three days. I thought it would make it easier to work even longer (which my boss would let me), but it has sped up my desire to pull the final plug and be done with it.

OK, yes, my situation is somewhat similar. Except I became a part-time employee which alleviates at least the tax concerns you raise.

When I was in my mid-50s I went in to retire as DH was retiring from his job. I have a particular colleague that I had been working with for 30 years. And, yes, he asked me to continue working one day a week doing only the kinds of tasks I wanted to do.