Join Early Retirement Today

Sixty-three and reFiring!
Old 05-02-2008, 09:58 AM   #1
Confused about dryer sheets

Sixty-three and reFiring!

I am a 63-yer old newly single mother with a 13 year old daughter. I live in NJ near NYC and am considering where I might live after my daughter goes to college in five years. I have a 4-season summer house in the upper upper upper peninsula of Mich., but with the long long long cold winters can't see being there full time, despite the very low cost of living.

Also I don't see ever retiring in the traditional sense of the phrase, but am doing what I call reFiring or being in reFirement. In other words, I have embarked on several new business ventures, that draw from my background and from my heart. I am a writer, teacher, program developer and consultant. Background in women's rights, civil rights, environment and arts. And China scholar. So just recently getting my head around how to make money. I never understood how other people did that and being of the artistic bent need time and space to creat. Now I have a better sense of how to join my need for money for myself and very importantly for my daughter's future AND create a channel for expressiveness.

Since neither venture is really dependent on a specific place, being mostly internet-based--the world is open! I speak French and Chinese (neither fluently) and am thinking about beginning Spanish.

So this is all a BIG hummmmmmmmmmmm...to me. :confused: