Taxes in retirement

dtlister

Confused about dryer sheets
Hi! Mother of five from SC. There are plenty of retirement calculators out there. Has anyone seen one that will help maximize tax strategy with consideration for social security RMDs, Roth conversion ladders and ACA subsidies in early retirement?

https://www.i-orp.com/Spend/extended.html

Comes close, but does have some limitations. I'm new to it, and have used linear programming (the underlying mathematics ORP uses) in other applications. So I'll let others chime in on the limitations, but the online documentation I find to be fairly robust.

Nothing that does both a multi-year look and rigorous tax and other (e.g., ACA and IRMAA) income-related calculations.

I-orp can be very good at multi-year looks - check its tax calculations to see if they are adequate for your situation.

The personal finance toolbox Excel spreadsheet is very good at one year's worth of rigorous tax and other (e.g., ACA and IRMAA) income-related calculations.

Has anyone seen one that will help maximize tax strategy with consideration for social security RMDs, Roth conversion ladders and ACA subsidies in early retirement?
Welcome! Most folks here work to devise a withdrawal plan that evens out taxes over the duration of one's retirement rather than just early retirement, especially accounting for the time when RMDs and SS kick in, often moving folks to higher tax brackets. I-ORP can help you plan distributions from and ER age to RMD age 70. But whether this is a valid concern for you depends on the length of time from your retirement to other income and RMDs, and what % of your income will come from what sources.

Many try to take as much out of tax-deferred accounts between 59.5 to 70 as possible to minimize the tax burden later, and many do ROTH conversions with these $.

One concern is that current tax rates may be likely much lower than future tax rates. So it may be beneficial to pay more in taxes now than later...or not.