After some general advice, non retirement related.

ausaus24

Dryer sheet wannabe
Could you wise people please answer my question.

I did a business ( economics degree ) did poorly. Now I am working in retail for the last two years and I don't like it. So I think I might do an engineering degree. I'm 24 now I'll be 28 when I a graduates and another 18k in debt. I currently earn about 17 dollars per hour.

What do you think ?

will I be able to get a job considering the circumstances. Would this move be suicide ?

I'm also Australian.

Last edited:
I have no idea if my experience would have any applicability to your situation, but.......

I also majored in Economics. And, after about six years, went back to school part time evenings and got a technical degree. It worked out reasonably well as that combination was a good background for the career I eventually progressed to.

I would suggest thinking of where you might want to apply that engineering degree and then speak with someone in the field who is successful in it. This would help in focusing you on what to study and if it is right for you. Most people are very willing to speak with young people about their careers.

I am an engineer with a Masters degree in Process Engineering. It has been great fun. But I got out of the technical career after three years and went into sales and management.

I was offered a good job in retail upon graduation (warehouse manager) and took a pass but I often wondered whether I would have been better off financially taking that job.

What is your retail job? How are you using your education? Have you done any aptitude tests?

I am in customer service. Unfortunately I aren't using my education in my work. I haven't done any official aptitude tests. I dabbled in Accounting but its really not for me at all.

I'd like to work on Infrastructure Engineering.

How should contact a succesful Civil engineer ?