Any Coin Collectors

street

Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso) Give me a forum ...
I'm not a coin collector but my dad gave me a lot of coins before he passed away. That has been 8 years ago now and I finally started looking at them closely. I haven't been through all of them I find it hard to look at them because he was most likely the last person to touch them. I know that sounds strange. LOL

Any way I'm looking for someone that I might share a few of the dates and mint locations to see if any are worth anything or not. I have done some research but I'm still not sure if I'm looking at the same coin or not. It is something I'm not an expert on and don't care to be.

Most everything I believe is silver related. There is about 60 silver dollars, 1/2dollars, dimes and nickels. I also see there in Kennedy 1/2 dollars or dollars what ever they came in.

I did see silver dollars from 1881 and 1889 and then to about 1924 I believe.

I don't collect, but I'm interested in rare coins a possible investment.

We do have some experts here, and a couple of them gave me a lot of information when I asked a similar question a couple of years ago. I still have a bunch left by my father. Most are only worth their melt value, but a few are interesting.

If you want to research them yourself, I found this to be quite useful:

Official ANA Grading Standards for United States Coins

There are also price lists (Red Book and Black Book), but since prices change all the time, only a coin dealer can really tell you what they are worth.

You can also try visiting a couple of coin shows if there are any near you, showing the exhibitors some of what you have. Talking to a few dealers can be very enlightening.

The NGC site has a lot of information on coins grading pictures and price guides. I use it a lot.

Thanks for the help and information. I will check that site out thanks.

Thanks for the help and information. I will check that site out thanks.