Anyone here from or live in Alaska? May be moving there..

Hardatit

Recycles dryer sheets
So I have an opportunity to possibly move from Arkansas to Alaska.
I'm debating the move, it would be better for my career and it would be a change of scenery. The only real negative I can see, is not being able to see family for 4 years unless we pay $16-1,800 for a plane ticket.

I'm active duty AirForce and looking to retire at 39 years old. This move would be for 4 years and it would put me at 18 years service with 2 years left to go till retirement. I'm married with no kids. After the tour looking to come back to the states and settle for good somewhere around TN.

As far as $$, I know the cost of living is probably higher in Alaska, but with extra housing and COLA I'd be looking at a $17K dollar a year raise with the move.

I've been reading online and have gathered a lot of information but I wanted to get the ins and outs from an ER minded person if possible.

I have no personal experience, but my Mom recently lived in Anchorage for a year before moving back to the east coast. Her take was that it was beautiful, but the winter weather was very tough to get used to. The lack of sunlight in the winter was particularly difficult for her. YMMV.

Where in Alaska would you be stationed?

Yeah I imagine that would be tough to get used to. I would be going to either Anchorage or the Fairbanks area, there are job openings at both but I've heard Anchorage is best if one could choose.

I had two friends in the USAF who were stationed in Alaska. Both loved it so much they moved there permanently when they retired, and are still there (both in the Anchorage area).

I've only been there to visit a few times in the summer, but aside from the cost of living I really enjoyed it and could see myself living there.