Are you watching free OTA digital TV

It's interesting that several posters have related the "re-discovery" by many folks of OTA transmission. I have run into people that only grew up with cable TV and were unaware of any alternatives. Somewhat understandable as I have lived in small towns in PA where only one or two stations could be picked up by an indoor antenna but for me it was a treat as I was 28 when I bought my first TV, went for 10 years without television once I graduated HS and moved away.

To this day, I'm not much of a TV watcher, primarily either PBS and the local news. Started streaming soon after Netflix started offering it and about 80+% of the households TV watching is streaming.

TVFool is a pretty impressive analysis. It says I should be able to get at least 10 channels with a set top antenna. I'm thinking the antenna I bought and returned may have been OK but I just did something wrong. I know I had input set right. Oh well.

If some of them were VHF (actual RF frequencies under 14 - not simply channel numbers), it's likely set top rabbit ears would fall short. My experience with TVFool has been that when it says a station is in the green or sometimes yellow bands, AND it is UHF, I can get it with an indoor antenna. I had no luck getting VHF at all, no matter how much I tried to adjust the rabbit ears according to the guides I've seen.

I have an antenna hooked up to a Tivo OTA recorder. IMHO, the Tivo unit makes OTA television about as good as it can get.

It has several great features like being able to put a live show on hold for up to 1/2 hour while one takes a break to get a beer or answer a phone call. It also has a rapid play function that zips through a show 30% faster than normal with no chipmunk voices. And did I mention the commercial skip feature for most of the network prime-time shows? Very nice.