Date of Residency in New State for State Income Taxes?

Midpack

Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso) Give me a forum ...
I must be entering the wrong search terms, but I can’t find anything definitive. I’ve also read the state income tax instructions for both states, not definitive re: specific dates either that I found. They require a date, but don’t provide guidance on fixing a date - they just mention various actions that could establish residence (drivers license, new address, bank accounts, etc.).

We closed on our new home (new state) on 6/19 but didn’t actually arrive and take steps toward residency until 7/2. Closing on our old home (old state) was just completed on 8/2. So we owned homes (and still have bank accounts) in two states for just over 6 weeks. Incomes taxes are higher in the new state, so left to my own devices I’d prefer to claim I was a resident in the old state until 8/2 and delay new state incomes taxes until then.

Does anyone know how to fix a date, or can I legally choose any date until 8/2? I assume if I call and ask, both states will tell me I was a resident as long as possible and we’ll potentially owe income taxes in both states for six weeks...

Last edited:
I must be entering the wrong search terms, but I can’t find anything definitive. I’ve also read the state income tax instructions for both states, not definitive re: specific dates either that I found. They require a date, but don’t provide guidance on residency date determinants.

We closed on our new home (new state) on 6/19 but didn’t actually arrive and take steps toward residency until 7/2. Closing on our old home (old state) was just completed on 8/2. So we owned homes (and still have bank accounts) in two states for just over 6 weeks. Incomes taxes are higher in the new state, so left to my own devices I’d prefer to claim I was a resident in the old state until 8/2 and delay new state incomes taxes until then.