How many miles do you get on a set of tires?

Midpack

Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso) Give me a forum ...
Though I know the warranties are pretty worthless after "prorating" and other caveats (must be even wear and down to 2/32"), there seem to be lots of tires with 60, 80 and even 90K mileage warranties. I am a very average driver, I rotate tires every 10K, and usually replace at 3-4/32" remaining tread depth. I usually get 40K miles on a set, worst experience was 30K, best about 50K. Dies anyone actually safely get these really high mileage numbers?

Living in an area with many months of ice and snow I don't take a chance by running the tread really low. I get new tires at around the 40K mark.

I just got rid of four Bridgestone dueler AT tires from my 4WD truck with 63000 miles. Replaced with the same as I was well satisfied. They had just worn down to the wear indicators.

I think the best I've ever seen was the tires on my house mate's 2006 Xterra. First set lasted something like 72,000 miles. When it came time to shop for new tires, I told him he should get that same brand, because I'd never seen tires last that long. He's up in the low 140,000 range now, so probably due for a new set soon.

I had a 2000 Intrepid that I bought new, and its OEM tires were racing slicks by around 30,000 miles. The next set of tires made it to around 76,000. Probably could have gone further, but one tire had two plugs, another had a slow leak, and another had worn unevenly when the car went out of alignment. Had similar luck with the next set, which lasted from 76000-130000, when I had to start replacing them. One wheel got stolen right off the car! Another one got a puncture. And I forget what happened to the other, but by that time that car got totaled at 150,000 miles, its tires were pretty badly mis-matched.