Listening to music

imoldernu

Gone but not forgotten
The older I get, and the expanding interest in new hobbies and world news, the less time I have for listening to music, so for the most part, it's now relegated to listening to old MP3's while driving or riding my bike.
Despite having thousands of my favorite songs on a 2T hard drive, I rarely listen at home. My TV provider has 80 channels of music, but I only listen to Traditional Country or Classical... Total music time per day? Maybe a half hour.

So, in a manner of speaking, the music industry has passed me by.
Now, I wonder where the music industry is supported. Who provides the music, who makes money on the industry, who buys, and in what format.
Then, who listens?... by age? by profession, or by other interests? Men, women...?
What kinds of music? Pop? Rap (hmmm)? Classical? Country? Mood? by decades?
Who plays an instrument or sings? ... and where?
How do you listen to music on a phone or Ipad?
Music alone, or with others?

And then, how... does one listen (or listen and watch) as in Utube...
Stereo system? TV and surround sound system? Car radio? Earphones or ear buds? Home wired for sound?

Buy?... online, music stores, Walmart... singles or albums? ITunes? Trade? Download or copy from radio or TV?
Radio? TV?... as major sources.

Now, here's a really good question... How often do you listen to the same tune or album? ... and maybe a better question... How many pieces of music do you have that you haven't listened to in many years? Is there a part of your brain that stores the memory of those songs in the pleasure center?