Moving to Florida

Oooo! A Florida thread! I'm a board newbie (registered this morning). Once I retire in 2023, I'm planning on moving BACK to Florida after 16 years in the Pacific NW. Celebration to be exact. I'm one of those Disney fanatics who NEEDS to be near WDW.

Florida is a beautiful state. I have lived there twice in the past few decades and it is calling me back...hot temps, humidity, and hurricanes and all!
We’ll be right here waiting for you. It won’t have changed much since you were last here - heat, hurricanes, skeeters, flip flops, bad drivers, etc. Just a bit older and a few more people. Still good, though :greetings10:

Oooo! A Florida thread! I'm a board newbie (registered this morning). Once I retire in 2023, I'm planning on moving BACK to Florida after 16 years in the Pacific NW. Celebration to be exact. I'm one of those Disney fanatics who NEEDS to be near WDW.

Florida is a beautiful state. I have lived there twice in the past few decades and it is calling me back...hot temps, humidity, and hurricanes and all!

Love FLA on the Tampa side.
Retirement living here worth all the other stuff.

All good to hear! Lots of my friends think I'm crazy! Then I tell them I have already lived in FL. Twice. I miss it. Every time I visit, it just feels like home.

That's the way to go. You've lived here and really know what it's like.

After 30+ years in Florida, I'm looking to get out after having moved from Massachusetts right after high school.:cool:

I lived briefly in Key Largo but spent the lion's share of my time on the Space Coast and Treasure Coast. When I first got here I couldn't get enough of the ocean. Now I'm tired of it. Water quality has really become an issue.

After a few more years to reach full retirement I'll probably end up in Tennessee.

There is a definite aftertaste when you drink the tap water in Florida but I've lived here for so long I'm used to it. When I travel I can definitely taste the difference.