New Transmission or New Car?

easysurfer

Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso) Give me a forum ...
I got this old car (1996, Neon, about 115K miles) with a bad transmission. Already had it rebuilt once and now seems like the trans is gonna go kaput again.

So, when (not if), the transmission goes out again, is that something worth fixing? If I get a new one installed, should it run like new?

Or is a bad transmission one of those "deal breaker" things as in, time to get a new car?

Not to be insulting, considering its a 96 Neon with 115K, I'd vote for new car.

I would too, though I am no car expert. Still, compare the trade-in value of the Neon with the cost of the transmission - - I would imagine that the difference probably isn't great. Also I would imagine that other repairs will soon follow if you keep the Neon.

The biggest question is, how much is a new transmission? I'm presuming it's an automatic? The Neon used a simple 3-speed automatic right up through 2001 or so. It dates back to the 1978 Omni and Horizon, and I'd imagine it would be pretty cheap to rebuild.

If I liked the car, and it was in otherwise decent shape, and the transmission repair could be done for under $800 or so, I'd probably do it. How is the engine on the car, though? Those early Neons were infamous for blowing head gaskets. The problem was corrected, for the most part, in later years, but a 1996 might still be iffy.

Not to be insulting, considering its a 96 Neon with 115K, I'd vote for new car.

No insult at all. A 96 Neon with 115K isn't easy to find. Believe it or not, I've rarely had problems starting the thing.

I actually exceeded both my goals when I bought it. One was to make it last over 10 years, the other was over 100K miles. Was about to get a brand new car in 2008, but then something called retiring early got in the way :LOL:

If I get another car, I'll probably get ond used, about 20K miles on it.