Son joining corporate world

mrc758

Dryer sheet wannabe
My son just accepted a job at a Fortune 500 company and will be moving to Chicago next month. As a physician I have no experience with the culture of that environment and he has only worked for smaller organizations in the past. He will be doing web and social media stuff with a marketing background. Any advice that I could give him? TIA
Maurice

To avoid layoffs due to corporate takeovers he wants to be his bosses most valuable employee. He will do that by turning in his work early with the best possible quality, get to work on time or early and stay late if needed, volunteer to take some undesirable work from the boss, and not talk smack about one or anything.

When he is asked to do something that is really not anything he is interested in, do it enthusiastically. It may be a test, or it may be to give him exposure to others. I was up to my ears in cleaning up an organization that I had inherited when I started a new job. Then I got a new boss. Next thing I know is he wants me to be the secretary for an internal organization. I think "I don't have time to waste with this nonsense, I have real work to do". But, since the boss wasn't really asking, I did it anyway. Turns out I met and built relationships with the folks 2 levels up, which helped me immeasurably. Best time I ever "wasted".

He needs to learn to suck up to the bosses and back stab his peers. Laugh at the boss' jokes and feint keen interest in his /her every word. Find a mentor who will lead you around the landmines and point out the glass ceilings and roadblocks to advancement. Work like a dog and volunteer to work late and weekends, don't take vacations or attend kids' plays / sporting activities. Save and invest like crazy and check out early, but never mention your intentions to anyone at work.

He needs to learn to suck up to the bosses and back stab his peers. ...
I'm sorry that your work life was like this.